Understanding the Spectrum of Felonies in New York: A Comprehensive Guide


In the intricate landscape of New York criminal defense, felonies, as opposed to misdemeanors, stand out as serious offenses, and New York classifies them into distinct categories based on their severity. From Class A to Class E felonies, each level represents a different degree of criminal activity, carrying varying degrees of punishment. In this guide, we’ll delve into the different classes of felonies in New York, shedding light on their definitions and the potential consequences they entail.


Class A Felony:

At the top of the felony hierarchy in New York is the Class A felony, reserved for the most severe criminal offenses. Examples include first-degree murder and certain drug trafficking offenses. The penalties for Class A felonies can be severe, often leading to life imprisonment or even the death penalty. The severity of these crimes reflects society’s determination to combat the most egregious violations of the law.  Many class “A” felonies carry mandatory minimum sentences of 15 years to life.


Class B Felony:

Class B felonies are serious offenses that fall just below the gravity of Class A felonies. These crimes include manslaughter, kidnapping, and drug trafficking. While the punishment is less severe than Class A felonies, individuals convicted of Class B felonies still face lengthy prison sentences, often ranging from several years up to 25 years in prison.


Class C Felony:

Moving down the spectrum, Class C felonies are less severe but still represent significant criminal conduct. Examples of Class C felonies include certain types of fraud and aggravated assault. Individuals convicted of Class C felonies may face substantial prison sentences, typically ranging from several years to fifteen years.


Class D Felony:

Class D felonies cover a range of offenses, including burglary, certain drug offenses, and white-collar crimes. While less severe than Class C felonies, these offenses still carry significant consequences. Individuals convicted of Class D felonies may face imprisonment ranging from a few years to seven years.


Class E Felony:

At the lowest end of the felony spectrum is the Class E felony, representing less severe criminal conduct. Examples include grand larceny and certain drug offenses. Although Class E felonies are the least severe among felonies, they can still result in imprisonment, often ranging from one to four years.


Violent vs. Non-Violent Felonies:

One crucial factor that significantly impacts the sentencing for felony offenses in New York is whether the crime is classified as violent or non-violent offense. Violent felonies, such as murder, assault, and robbery, involve the use or threat of force or the use, possession or threat of a weapon. Non-violent felonies, on the other hand, encompass offenses like white-collar crimes and certain drug offenses, where physical force is not a primary element.


The distinction between violent and non-violent felonies plays a pivotal role in determining the severity of the sentence. Convictions for violent felonies often result in longer prison terms and eliminate the possibility of parole. Sentences for violent felonies are determinate, meaning a fixed sentence.  The convicted felon must serve at least 85% of that sentence.  In contrast, non-violent felonies may lead to comparatively shorter sentences and greater opportunities for rehabilitation or alternative sentencing options as well as the possibility of parole.  Sentences for non-violent felonies are indeterminate.  Meaning they are expressed as a range such as 2 to 4 years or 3 to 9 years.


Predicate Felony Status:

Another major factor in felony sentence is whether the person being sentenced has a prior felony conviction and that felony conviction is within 10 years of the commission of the current felony.  For purposes of calculating the 10 years, time spent in jail or prison doesn’t count toward the 10 years.  However, whether the last felony was a violent or non-violent felony may  significantly affect the sentence.



Understanding the different classes of felonies in New York is crucial for navigating the complex legal landscape. From Class A to Class E, each category represents a varying degree of criminal conduct, with corresponding penalties that reflect the severity of the offense. Additionally, the classification of felonies as violent or non-violent further shapes the sentencing outcomes, emphasizing the importance of legal expertise in navigating the criminal justice system. As individuals face felony charges, awareness of the nuances within each class becomes paramount for building a robust defense and securing the best possible outcome in the legal proceedings.

Contact Information